Curfew & lockdowns: States go all out to control coronavirus spread in India | India News

NEW DELHI: As the novel coronavirus kept the upward trajectory in the country with more than 70 fresh cases reported since Sunday night, state governments on Monday decided to take extraordinary measures and extend restrictions to contain the virus which has killed seven people in India.
Despite India observing a ‘Janata Curfew’ on Sunday with a ban on inter-state bus and train services in place till March 31, people on Monday continued to venture out prompting Prime Minister Narendra Modi to appeal citizens to stay indoor and take social distancing seriously.
By Monday evening, at least 20 states in India announced either a complete or a partial lockdown while some chose to impose curfew.
States/UTs under curfew
Maharashtra, Punjab, Puducherry and Chandigarh
States/UTs under complete lockdown
Delhi, Jharkhand and Telangana. Six of the eight northeastern states -Assam, Manipur, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Mizoram have announced lockdown.
States/UTs under partial lockdown
Uttar Pradesh, Bengal, Bihar, Haryana, Kerala, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand
In a curfew, people are not allowed to leave their homes and have to take prior permission from the police if they need to venture out. Curfew is imposed for a specific period of time and its violation can result in immediate detention.
On the other hand, a lockdown has a less structure to it as compared to a curfew. The authorities can chose to stop specific services in an area and restrains people from moving in groups. Both are aimed at prohibiting public movement which why barring essential services, shops, markets, public transport etc. are stopped.
Partial lockdown refers to lockdown in certain districts of a state and not the entire state.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *